The John Psathas Percussion Project, Vol. 1

Arr. Omar Carmenates

The idea for THE JOHN PSATHAS PERCUSSION PROJECT: VOLUME ONE began in 2013 with John Psathas’ piano and gamelan piece Waiting: Still which Omar Carmenates arranged for percussion trio. While unknown at the time, this arrangement launched a five-year-long relationship that culminates in Carmenates’ debut for PARMA Recordings. For THE JOHN PSATHAS PERCUSSION PROJECT: VOLUME ONE, Carmenates acts as arranger, director, and performer, and is joined by a roster of talented musicians including pianist Daniel Koppelman and drum set soloist Justin Alexander.

The works on THE JOHN PSATHAS PERCUSSION PROJECT: VOLUME ONE draw inspiration from a wide range of sources. Corybas was built around a particular dance groove found in Macedonia, and Piano Quintet is reflective of the work of composers ranging from Arvo Pärt to Johann Sebastian Bach. Drum Dances is heavily influenced by the drumming style of Dave Weckl, while the virtuoso keyboard duo Jettatura is inspired by an incredibly unlucky trip by the composer to his homeland of Greece.

The works of Greek composer John Psathas emerge from a truly dazzling 21st-century backdrop, where dynamic collaboration with creative masters from all corners of the physical and artistic globe result in outcomes that are visionary, moving, and inspired. Brought to life by Carmenates’ efforts, Psathas’ compositions invite listeners on an aural journey into his musical and ethnic history.

-Navona Records

Solo Video Recordings

Mirage pour Marimba

By Yasuo Sueyoshi

Dichterliebe No. 1 "Im wunderschönen monat mai"

By Robert Schumann, Arr. Justin Lamb

Khan Variations

By Alejandro Viñao

Rebonds B

By Iannis Xenakis

Other Video Recordings


by Michael Burritt

Assonant (IV)

by Ana-Maria Avram

Akoya for Drumset and Percussion Quartet

by Brant Blackard

Lullaby 5

by Nicholas Deyoe

Coming soon...

Six Ecoacoustic Quintets (promo)

by Matthew Burtner